When evaluating Pictory vs InVideo, Pictory is a strong fit if you spend most of your time turning blog posts, scripts, URLs, or slides into short videos. Its plans are minute-based and start at $25 a month if you pay annually.

If you’d rather start from scratch, give an idea to an AI system, and edit the result on a timeline, InVideo makes more sense. Its pricing is based on credits and starts at $10 per user per month on annual billing.

Neither company spells everything out. InVideo’s pricing page doesn’t mention a free plan or licensing terms, for example.

From the outside, the two look alike: type something in, and you get a video. Once you dig in, they’re different tools. Pictory works best when you have existing content to remix. 

InVideo is closer to an agent-powered editor that builds videos from prompts, using generative video models, including third-party ones.

That’s more than a surface difference; it changes how you work and what you pay.

This comparison is based on what Pictory and InVideo published on their own sites in November 2026. It also points out where their pages don’t match what review sites say. 

There are no hands-on performance scores here, only what’s public and where the numbers don’t add up. A quick test you can run yourself is at the end.

Pictory vs InVideo at a Glance

AreaPictoryInVideo
Built ForTurning scripts, blog posts, URLs, slides, audio, and long videos into short videosPrompt-to-video and an agent-style editor with generative models and a multitrack timeline
Entry PlanStarter $25/mo billed annually($29 monthly), 1 userStarter 10/seat/mo billed annually($20 monthly)
Middle PlanProfessional $35/mo annual($59 monthly), 1 userPlus 30/seat/mo annual (60 monthly)
Top-Listed PlanTeam $119/moannual($199 monthly), 3+ usersMax $75/seat/moannual($150 monthly)
What the Plan CountsVideo minutes and AI credits (Starter: 2,400 minutes a year, about 200 a month)Credits per seat (400, 2,000 or 5,000 a month); no rollover
Trial or Free14-day trial, 3 video projectsNot stated on the pricing page read
Max Length30 minutes when generating from a script or URLNot stated on the page read
Stock and LicensingFAQ says clips, music, and voiceovers are licensed for use in your videosPremium stock footage included (100, 200 or 500 clips); licensing terms not stated on page

What Each Tool Actually Does

Pictory

  • Pictory says it can turn text, scripts, blog posts, links, presentation slides, images, audio, and even existing videos into new, edited videos. 
  • You get captions, voiceovers, and visuals, and you can edit the video by editing the text. All paid plans include ElevenLabs voices in 29 languages, and higher tiers add voice cloning. 
  • It connects with Make, Zapier, a Chrome extension, and an API. An avatar feature is listed as “launching soon,” so if you need avatars now, look elsewhere.

InVideo

  • InVideo promotes an “agentic” editor: you upload footage, describe what you want in plain English, review the result, and export. It offers video models like Google Veo 3.1, Sora 2, Kling, and Seedance, plus image models and voice tools. 
  • The editor has a multitrack timeline and supports live collaboration. Its plans break down into “agent” tiers (Agent Two Lite for Starter; Lite, Pro, and Ultra for Plus and Max). It also mentions SOC 2 and GDPR compliance.
  • Many review articles describe an older, template-focused InVideo. If you see mentions of “5,000 templates” or plans called Generative or Elite, double-check you’re reading about the current version.

Pricing: Minutes vs. Credits

pictory vs invideo, Pricing: Minutes vs. Credits

The two price their plans in different units, so the headline prices can mislead.

Pictory Pricing

  • Starter is $25 a month (annual) or $29 a month if you pay monthly. You get one user, 2,400 video minutes a year (about 200 a month), 1,200 AI credits, and 5GB of storage.
  • Professional is $35 (annual) or $59 (monthly). It jumps to 7,200 video minutes a year, 12,000 credits, 20GB of storage, five brand kits, and voice cloning.
  • Team is $119 (annual) or $199 (monthly) for at least three users. You get 21,600 minutes a year and 100GB of storage.
  • Enterprise is custom, for ten or more users.

Limits to note: for URL- or script-based generation, each video is capped at 30 minutes. For editing pre-recorded video, the cap is 60 minutes on Starter and 180 on Professional and Team.

Watch for inconsistencies on Pictory’s site. Starter’s monthly price, for example, appears as both $25 and $29, and the stock library asset numbers don’t always match. Check at checkout.

InVideo Pricing

  • Starter is $10 a month (annual) or $20 monthly. One seat gets 400 credits, with up to five editor seats and 200GB of storage.
  • Plus is $30 (annual) or $60 (monthly), with 2,000 credits per seat, up to ten editors and ten free guest seats, 600GB of storage, and higher agent and model access.
  • Max is $75 (annual) or $150 (monthly), with 5,000 credits per seat, up to twenty editors, and 2TB of storage.

Credits pay for video creation, AI models, and similar work (not for downloading). Unused credits don’t roll over. 

Most importantly, generative models are charged at their raw API pricing. For example, Seedance 2.5 costs about 56 credits for five seconds at 720p, or 96 at 1080p. An image from Nano Banana Pro costs 2.5 credits.

Ballpark Example

  • Say you’re on a Plus plan with 2,000 credits, at those sample rates. That covers roughly 20 clips of five seconds each at 1080p (about 100 seconds), or about 35 clips at 720p (almost three minutes).
  • This only counts AI-generated footage; the cost of edits using stock or voiceover isn’t clearly stated. Pictory counts finished video minutes, mostly built from stock and text.
  • Bottom line: you can’t compare Pictory’s minutes head-to-head with InVideo’s credits. Price out what you actually plan to do.

Editing and Workflow: How They Really Work

  • Pictory starts from your content, dropped in as a URL or script, and splits it into scenes automatically.
  • InVideo starts with a creative brief or raw footage, and uses its AI agents and models to assemble and edit.
  • InVideo has a multitrack timeline and real-time collaboration. Pictory has a scene and text-based editing flow, and supports brand kits (one, five, or ten depending on your plan).
  • One 2026 reviewer said Pictory’s AI sometimes strayed from the source article, and that an InVideo project used up credits before finishing. Both were single runs, so don’t treat them as a final verdict. Always check that the script matches your original.

Stock, Voices, and Licensing

Pictory VS Invideo, Stock, Voices, and Licensing
  • Pictory says its video clips, music, and voiceovers are licensed for what you create. Its plans list Getty and Storyblocks assets, but the numbers differ between tables, so cross-check them before you count on them.
  • InVideo lists 100, 200, or 500 stock clips depending on your plan, but it isn’t clear about commercial use rights, watermarks, or maximum export resolution. Its site says 4K export starts at the Starter level for “your own footage.”
  • Always read each vendor’s terms for using content in ads or client work, especially for footage, music, and voices.

Free Plans and Watermarks

  • Pictory offers a 14-day trial with three video projects, and lists “no watermark” as a Starter feature. The rules for the trial’s watermark aren’t spelled out.
  • InVideo’s pricing page doesn’t mention a free plan or watermark details, though other articles say there’s a watermarked free tier. One 2026 review claimed the watermark appears only after export. Since the official page is silent, test a free export yourself before relying on it.

Where the Sources Get Messy

  •  InVideo pricing varies by article: some list Plus at $20, $25, $28, or $35, and Max at $50, $60, or $100. InVideo’s own page currently shows $30 and $75 for annual billing.
  • Pictory has the same problem: older articles list Starter at $19 and Pro at $39 or $49, but Pictory’s site now shows $25 and $35.

If you can’t find a price or fact on the vendor’s official page, and there’s no date attached, don’t trust it.

Which Should You Pick?

  • Repurposing articles, scripts, or webinars? Pictory is built for that workflow, with text-based editing and easy-to-understand minute pricing.
  • Starting from scratch or generating footage? InVideo’s agents and models are built for that, but watch credit use.
  • Working with a team? InVideo’s per-seat plans and guest seats are on Plus and Max. Pictory’s Team plan is for three or more users, with plenty of shared storage and brand kit options.
  • Need a presenter avatar? Neither is ready right now: Pictory says it’s coming soon, and InVideo doesn’t mention it. Look at dedicated avatar tools instead.
  • Want predictable costs? Pictory’s set minutes make that easier; InVideo’s costs can swing a lot depending on which tools you use.

How to Test Both in an Afternoon

  1. Pick a real project, such as a 600-word blog post, and boil it down to a 60-second script.
  2. Run that script through Pictory’s trial and InVideo’s lowest-paid or free option.
  3. Check for watermarks, export resolution, render time, and how much of your allowance (minutes or credits) it used.
  4. See if the visuals fit your topic; generic stock footage is a weak spot for both.
  5. Read the licensing terms for commercial use, music, voices, and any generated footage.
  6. Work out what you’d actually spend in a month, based on your real workload.

Bottom Line

It comes down to where your videos start. If you’re starting with words, Pictory’s text-driven tools and minute-based pricing will probably fit. If you want to prompt an AI or generate footage with a lot of timeline control, InVideo’s credit system is the better match, but you’ll need to keep an eye on usage.

Before you commit, run a real article through both tools using the steps above, and compare watermarks, export length, minute or credit use, and licensing terms.

Disclosure: This article is general information, not specific advice. All prices and features came from vendor pages in November 2026 and may change, so check the live pages before buying. bhtnews.com has no affiliate relationship with either vendor.

Synthesia vs HeyGen
Synthesia io Alternative

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is cheaper, Pictory or InVideo?

InVideo’s Starter plan is cheaper upfront ($10 per seat per month on annual billing, compared with Pictory’s $25), but they measure usage differently. Pictory counts finished video minutes; InVideo counts credits, which depend on your workflow. Price out what you actually make.

Does Pictory have a free plan?

Not a permanent one, but it offers a 14-day trial with three videos. Some outside articles mention a free watermarked tier, but it’s not on Pictory’s page, so check before you rely on it.

Does InVideo have a free plan?

The current pricing page doesn’t mention one, but some articles do. Check the live page to be sure.

Can I use Pictory or InVideo videos commercially?

Pictory says its clips, music, and voices are licensed for use in your videos. InVideo doesn’t say clearly on its pricing page. Always read the terms, especially around generated footage and music.

Which is better for blog-to-video?

Pictory was built for this: drop in blog posts, URLs, or scripts, and it builds scene-based videos. InVideo can do it too, but it leans toward prompt-based creation and agent-led editing. Either way, review the AI’s script before publishing.

Which is better for teams?

InVideo offers per-seat plans with guest seats on higher tiers. Pictory’s Team plan covers three or more users and includes shared resources. Pick based on how your team actually works.

Marie Miguel
Marie Miguel is a senior content writer and AI technologist specializing in translating complex artificial intelligence concepts into engaging, human-centric narratives. With a deep understanding of machine learning, natural language processing, and automation trends, she creates high-ranking, SEO-optimized content that bridges the gap between cutting-edge technology and everyday application. Whether exploring ethical AI, future tech trends, or practical automation tools, Marie delivers insightful, authoritative copy designed to captivate tech enthusiasts and industry leaders alike.